Monday, 31 December 2012

North Pole Express again

The following shots, courtesy of Carl Chambers, were taken on Saturday 22 December 2012.

Please send shots (especially those showing people) for publication to tanfield.blog@gmail.com

The North Pole Express alongside Burdon Plain (CC)

Sunday, 30 December 2012

Sunday Variety

James cleaning Twizell

Saturday, 29 December 2012

Tomorrow's Trains

Twizell will haul trains from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey and Tanfield at 11 am, 12.30, 2 and 3.30 pm.

Twizell at the North Pole
(photo courtesy of Carl Chambers)

Friday, 28 December 2012

North Pole Express - another view

The following shots, courtesy of Dave Hewitt, were taken on Sunday 23 December 2012.

Please send shots (especially those showing people) for publication to the blog.

Another Express arrives at the North Pole (DH)

Thursday, 27 December 2012

North Pole Express Revisited

The following shots, courtesy of Carl Chambers, were taken on Saturday 15 December 2012.

Please email shots (especially those showing people) for publication to the blog.

All quiet inside Marley Hill shed (CC)

Wednesday, 26 December 2012

Boxing Day

David cleans Twizell's gauge glasses
(photo courtesy of Owen Edwards)

Trains Today

Today, Boxing Day, Twizell will haul trains from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey and Tanfield at 11 am, 12.30, 2 and 3.30 pm.   There is no booking required for these "Winter Warmers", but there may be compulsory mince pies.

Twizell (built 1891) in Marley Hill shed (built 1854)
(photo courtesy of Carl Chambers)

Monday, 24 December 2012

North Pole Express Day 10 - Xmas Eve

Matthew & David on Twizell at Tanfield

Sunday, 23 December 2012

North Pole Express Day 9

Fireman Matthew coupling Twizell to the train

Friday, 21 December 2012

Trains Around Christmas

The North Pole Express runs on Saturday, Sunday and Christmas Eve, and all trains are fully booked.   Twizell will haul trains every 40 minutes between East Tanfield and the North Pole from 10.40 until 4 pm.

Twizell and a NPE on Tanfield bank
(photo courtesy of Carl Chambers)

On Tuesday (Boxing Day), trains will leave Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey and Tanfield at 11 am, 12.30, 2 and 3.30 pm.   There is no booking required for these "Winter Warmers", but there may be compulsory mince pies.

Photographers - I would particularly appreciate shots of TR trains and people which can be published on this blog between Christmas and New Year - please email with a descriptive note if possible to tanfield.blog @ gmail.com

A Wet Friday

Ian and Ray doing the annual check on the crane

Thursday, 20 December 2012

Indoor Work on a Wet Thursday

Ryan plasma cutting HL No.2's chimney liner

Wednesday, 19 December 2012

A Task for Today

Lately, when footpath crossings have required work we have been replacing wooden sleepers with ballast, in part to reduce slip hazards when wet or frosty.

Vic alighting at East Tanfield .....

Tuesday, 18 December 2012

Tuesday at TR

Ryan having his work photographed by John .....

Monday, 17 December 2012

Workers in the Workshop

Jim milling parts for Horden; Vic in the background

Sunday, 16 December 2012

North Pole Express Day 7

Steve posing while marshalling the stock

Friday, 14 December 2012

Trains This Weekend

The North Pole Express runs on Saturday and Sunday, and all trains are fully booked.   Twizell will haul trains every 40 minutes between East Tanfield and the North Pole from 10.40 until 4 pm.

Angela waiting the return of the last North Pole Express
(photo courtesy of Carl Chambers)

Thursday, 13 December 2012

A Cold Thursday

Ryan removing rivets from Horden's tubeplate .....

Wednesday, 12 December 2012

12.12.12

Ryan grinding rivets from Horden's front tubeplate

RSH Crane Tanks

Southwick's (RSH 7069/1942) boiler being lifted at Ingrow
Hendon (RSH 7007/1940) has a similar boiler
(photo courtesy of George Bowler, a recent visitor to TR)

Tuesday, 11 December 2012

Tuesday at TR

Bill finishing the cladding of one gable at ET .....

Monday, 10 December 2012

In the Workshop

Ryan cutting a new decorative cylinder end cover
for HL No.2

Bowes Railway News

Springwell Road level crossing on Sun 2 Dec
Latest from the Bowes blogger - the rail replacement within Springwell Road level crossing has been completed

Sunday, 9 December 2012

North Pole Express Day 5

We're at the half way point in 2012 - there are 5 NPE days to go

George driving Twizell, collecting the empty stock

Saturday, 8 December 2012

Saturday

Mark and Kyle preparing Cochrane as backup loco
(photo courtesy of Bob Payne)

Friday, 7 December 2012

Trains This Weekend

The North Pole Express runs on Saturday and Sunday, and all trains are fully booked.   Twizell will haul trains every 40 minutes between East Tanfield and the North Pole from 10.40 until 4 pm.

Cochrane and David on standby
duty last Saturday
(photo by Carl Chambers)

Thursday, 6 December 2012

Thursday

Vic delivering oil .....

Wednesday, 5 December 2012

A Snowy Wednesday

It's snowing at Tanfield .....
John and Geoff architraving

Tuesday, 4 December 2012

A Bright Tuesday

 This morning, Ronnie and Ryan are in the workshop

Monday, 3 December 2012

A Cold Monday

Jim demonstrating lathe work to Ryan

Sunday, 2 December 2012

North Pole Express - Day 3

This morning, Steve oiling Twizell .....

Friday, 30 November 2012

Trains This Weekend

The North Pole Express runs on Saturday and Sunday, and all trains are fully booked.   Twizell will haul trains every 40 minutes between East Tanfield and the North Pole from 10.40 until 4 pm.    Cochrane will be steamed as backup.

Sarah, who was guard on last Sunday's NPE, said that she received several compliments about us from members of the public.   Hopefully there will be less rain this weekend, so even more people can enjoy the experience.

Odd Jobs at the End of the Week

A selection of the tasks undertaken today :

NER 6-wheel inspection saloon being loaded
for transport to the Aln Valley Railway

Thursday, 29 November 2012

Cold Thursday Assortment

Peter checking axlebox lubrication on the NER 6-wheel
engineers saloon, which is due to leave tomorrow

Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Wednesday

Down at Tanfield, more cladding has been done:

Ken and Bill cutting a piece of cladding .....

Tuesday, 27 November 2012

Tuesday

Ronnie fitting studs to Horden's backhead

Monday, 26 November 2012

Monday in the Workshop

Ryan making an extractor tool

Sunday, 25 November 2012

First Day of NPE

The first day of the 2012 North Pole Express season started with downpours affecting public road access and our sites, but fortunately the rain eased off, everyone coped well, and an enjoyable day ensued.

Bob prepared for the worst
while on car park duty

Saturday, 24 November 2012

Final North Pole Prep

Today saw last minute work at Marley Hill, East Tanfield and the North Pole in readiness for our busiest operating time of the year.

Emma dressing the tree in ET station
(photo courtesy of Mark Pearce)

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow sees the start of our North Pole Express season - prebooked tickets only, and as far as I know, sold out.   Twizell will haul trains every 40 minutes between East Tanfield and the North Pole from 10.40 until 4 pm.    Cochrane will be steamed as backup.

Friday, 23 November 2012

Tidying Tanfield

Vic at work at Marley Hill

Thursday, 22 November 2012

A Windy Rainy Thursday

Ryan drilling a brake hanger from Horden

Wednesday, 21 November 2012

Wednesday at Tanfield

A delivery of plasterboard and insulation

Tuesday, 20 November 2012

Tuesday Night Shift

David and the Elves do late night North Pole signage
(photo courtesy of Mark)

A Drizzly Tuesday

Vic checking over the digger, and adding antifreeze

Monday, 19 November 2012

A Windy Monday

Dave on the radial arm drill

Sunday, 18 November 2012

Sunday Variety

David watering, Chris coaling Cochrane at AH

Saturday, 17 November 2012

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow's loco will be Sir Cecil A Cochrane, hauling trains from Andrews House station for Sunniside, Causey and East Tanfield at 11 am, 12.30, 2 and 3.30 pm.

Cochrane and train last weekend, north of MH signalbox
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Friday, 16 November 2012

Tanfield on Friday

Ian unloading a delivery of plasterboard

Thursday, 15 November 2012

Coal

A recent trial of a sample of Welsh steam coal on Cochrane proved successful - it burnt well with less smoke and residue, and seemed hotter although relatively slow to ignite.   We've bought more ----.

30 tonnes of Welsh steam coal being
delivered today (photo by Ian Cowan)

Tanfield Station Again

Ian fixing plasterboard ceiling in the main reception area