Thursday, 31 October 2013

Thursday's Track Team

Malcolm & Geoff, assisted by Dan, fastening down chairs to gauge

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Advertisement - Tornado lecture at Durham Uni 7.30 Wed 6 Nov, organized by MG Car Club.

Wednesday's Track Team

Nigel & Dave unloading sleepers at Causey

Robert Stephenson Works Tour

Several buildings of the Robert Stephenson works are extant between Forth Banks & South Street, just south of Newcastle Central station.   There are occasional tours of parts of the site.   Kyle Allsopp took the following photographs during a tour last Saturday, 26 October 2013.

Office frontage on South Street

Tuesday, 29 October 2013

Monday, 28 October 2013

We Were on the Telly Tonight

See last Wednesday's blog post, when Tyne Tees Dave brought reporter Lucy Taylor on a camera training session.   The result was on the local ITV News tonight, and is available on ITV Player - click the still below or:

Monday Mix

Dave making part of a blow down valve for HL No.2

Bowes Railway News

The Bowes Railway is once more accessible to visitors and volunteers - see the Bowes Railway Blog for further information.
Frank & Phil working on WST
(photo courtesy of the Bowes Blog).

Sunday, 27 October 2013

Sunday Mix

Cochrane raising steam this morning
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Saturday, 26 October 2013

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul trains from Andrews House for Sunniside and Causey at 11 am, 12.30, 2 and 3.30 pm GMT this Sunday.  There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track relaying on East Tanfield bank.
Cochrane shunting in April 2012 -
good luck to shunter Dan in his new job
(photo courtesy of Carl Chambers)

Friday, 25 October 2013

Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Wednesday Workers

Ken, Bill & Bob removing bonnet sides
from the Planet diesel .....

Tuesday, 22 October 2013

Today's Work

Richard repairing Vic's bucket
(but the digger is stopped for repair)

Monday, 21 October 2013

Ashington Workshops

A photograph recently unearthed and sent in by our south east Northumberland correspondent, Neil Morgan:
An overhead view inside NCB Ashington workshops
- do you know the year?

Saturday, 19 October 2013

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul trains from Andrews House for Sunniside and Causey at 11 am, 12.15, 1.45, 3 and 4.15 pm this Sunday.  There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track relaying on East Tanfield bank.
Cochrane passing the signalbox during the gala
(photo courtesy of Ken Snowdon)

Friday, 18 October 2013

Track Across Time Exhiibition

Track Across Time is an exhibition which runs to March 2014 at Darlington Railway Museum, as part of the celebration of the 150th anniversary of the opening of the NER's Darlington North Road Works.

Tanfield art critic Matthew Pickering has sent these preview snaps:

Thursday, 17 October 2013

Wednesday, 16 October 2013

Assorted Jobs

Bob & Dave enjoy fitting No.2's ashpan bottom

Tuesday, 15 October 2013

Annual Boiler Checks

Graham checking the thickness of Twizell's firebox .....
(inspection by Graham Morris Engineering, 07734560802)

Monday, 14 October 2013

Sunday, 13 October 2013

Saturday, 12 October 2013

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil Algernon Cochrane will haul trains from Andrews House for Sunniside and Causey at 11 am, 12.15, 1.45, 3 and 4.15 pm this Sunday.  There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track relaying on East Tanfield bank.
Dan & Steve using Cochrane to shunt their train
at Marley Hill carriage shed last Sunday morning

Friday, 11 October 2013

Friday Jobs

Ian posing on Cochrane for a visiting photographer
(Cochrane being steam tested following tube work)

Thursday, 10 October 2013

Some of Thursday's Work

Susan's end of season work on the planters
at Andrews House station

Photo Quiz from the Journal


Sent by Neil Morgan - where and when were these youngsters working on this job?

Wednesday, 9 October 2013

Sleeper Replacement at Causey Bridges

Vic clearing one end of a sleeper; new volunteer Dave digs out the other
Today we're at Causey car park bridges, so Vic can't help as much

Tuesday, 8 October 2013

NER Carriage Repatriation (3)

All photos below are courtesy of Stewart Waugh:
Lifting from the trailer at its Durham destination

Usual Work

Richard continuing with Horden's bunker .....

Monday, 7 October 2013

Victorian Photography

A first at Tanfield Railway in this millennium - a visiting photographer using the wet glass plate collodion process to to take shots and immediately process the plates in a portable darkroom set up outside Marley Hill shed.
The bellows camera in use with the wet glass plate collodion process 

NER Carriage Repatriation (2)

The following shots of a NER 7 compartment carriage body being extracted from a garden at Wiggenhall St Germans, Norfolk, are courtesy of Stewart Waugh & Mark Pearce:

Monday at Marley Hill

Dave making interference fit bolts

Sunday, 6 October 2013

Saturday, 5 October 2013

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul trains from Andrews House for Sunniside and Causey at 11 am, 12.15, 1.45, 3 and 4.15 pm this Sunday.  There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track relaying on East Tanfield bank.

Cochrane at Andrews House in February 2012 (photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Friday, 4 October 2013

Friday Oddments

Richard cutting plate for Horden's bumker,
watched by John from EHSI

Thursday, 3 October 2013

Wednesday, 2 October 2013

A Wet Wednesday on the Way

Track maintenance south of Bobgins -  Bill & Geoff
waiting for Vic to remove a sleeper

Tuesday, 1 October 2013