Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Monday, 28 April 2014

Monday at Marley Hill

Malcolm making a gasket; Walter packing a gland nut (both for Twizell) 

Sunday, 27 April 2014

Sunday Work

David oiling No.2 as Tom makes steam (rh photo Jason Peppercorn)

Saturday, 26 April 2014

Marley Hillites at Morpeth

As mentioned on the blog on Thursday, this weekend sees the Northumbrian Gathering at Morpeth

A current Tanfield regular, Bob the musketeer at Morpeth Castle

Tomorrow's Trains

Keighley Gasworks No.2 (HL 2859 of 1911) will haul trains at 10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm,2.15 & 3.30 from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey & return.   There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.
No.2 at Causey in February

Friday, 25 April 2014

Thursday, 24 April 2014

News

    
This Friday, Saturday & Sunday it's the 47th Northumbrian Gathering at Morpeth,
this year celebrating coal mining heritage & 30 years since the 1984 strike
Bob o'blue bonnet & musket from the Sealed Knot will be demonstrating around Morpeth Castle

Same Rock Cutting .....

..... but better weather for spot resleepering

Dave & Geoff dealing with furry-bottomed chairs

Wednesday, 23 April 2014

In the Rock Cutting

All the photos below are courtesy of Nigel Wheeler
Steve & Nigel inserting replacement sleepers (Geoff behind the camera)

Tuesday, 22 April 2014

A Cold Rainy Misty Day .....

..... so only a bit of resleepering done at the north end of Engine Curve

Colin driving spikes; Nigel & Dave removing sleepers

Monday, 21 April 2014

Sunday, 20 April 2014

Sunday around the Site


David changes No.2's gauge glass
as Richard & David look on

Friday, 18 April 2014

Good Friday

The photos below are all courtesy of Callum Gilchrist

Easter at Marley Hill; Crag & Luke look after the bouncy castle

Easter Friday

Friday Ops: 
Angela making a new gasket for Twizell.

Trains on Saturday, Sunday & Monday

Sir Cecil A Cochrane and No.2 will haul alternate trains at 10.30 am, 11.15, 12 noon, 12.45 pm, 1.30, 2.15, 3 & 3.45 from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey & return.   There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.   AW No.2 will be the pilot loco at Causey.
No.2 & Cochrane at Terrace Juncrion in March

Good Friday - Trains Today

Keighley Gasworks No.2 (HL 2859 of 1911) will haul trains at 10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm,2.15 & 3.30 from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey & return.   There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.
Inside view of No.2's cab from a carriage verandah

Thursday, 17 April 2014

A Few Jobs Around TR

Dave, Malcolm & Geoff digging post holes to replace
the fence which has disappeared from Bobgins .....

Wednesday, 16 April 2014

Engine Curve Again

Nigel gauging. Dave & Bill drilling, Bob wrenching & Geoff fitting parts

Tuesday, 15 April 2014

Tuesday Tasks

Nigel checking the gauge while Colin, John & Dave screw down chairs

Monday, 14 April 2014

Monday at Marley Hill

Malcolm rubbing down undercoat on Twizell's buffer beam; while Phil, Malcolm & Eric ....

Saturday, 12 April 2014

Twizell's Tanks:


Twizell's cab top removed from the engine shed
(Allowing access to the tanks)

Band Interview

Rob Perrin & the Keypad Orchestra being interviewed
at Andrews House today - they guest at TR tomorrow
(photo courtesy of  Malcolm Parker)

Tomorrow's Trains

Keighley Gasworks No.2 (HL 2859 of 1911) will haul trains at 10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm,2.15 & 3.30 from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey & return.   There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.
No.2 at Terrace Junction in March (photo Dave Heiwtt)

Friday, 11 April 2014

Thursday, 10 April 2014

Twizell 2day.

Today Twizell's boiler was reunited with its frames. 

Angela preparing the crane for its lift, then the crane is started up

Wednesday, 9 April 2014

Preparing Twizell

All of the photos below are courtesy of Nigel Wheeler

Steve, Ken, Steve & Dave preparing
to lift Twizell's boiler onto the bogie

Tuesday, 8 April 2014

Today's Twizell

Dan drilling a lubricator mounting hole; Steve cleaning a steam pipe
(photos courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)

Monday, 7 April 2014

Twizell Today

Jason & Les painting Twizell's boiler
prior to reinstallation in its frames
(photo courtesy of Ian Cowan)

Sunday, 6 April 2014

Saturday, 5 April 2014

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil Cochrane will haul trains at 10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm2.15 & 3.30 from Andrews House for Sunniside, Causey & return.   There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.
Cochrane raising steam outside Marley Hill shed
last Sunday (photo courtesy of John Race)

Thursday, 3 April 2014

Work Continues

Dave cleaning Twizell's frames prior to painting