Monday, 30 June 2014

Marley Hill Monday

All photographs below are courtesy of Ian Cowan:
Brian & Michael work on Horden

4 photos from yesterday.

Cochrane passing bobgins
From Causey.

Sunday, 29 June 2014

Sunday at TR

Tom preparing Cochrane; David & Angela getting No.2 ready

Saturday, 28 June 2014

Saturday running

Mark and Chris checking 
The fire and water levels...

Friday, 27 June 2014

Odd Jobs

Ian removing the Y7 axle from the wheel lathe,
ready to be returned to Beamish 

Trains This Weekend

This is the weekend of the Tanfield Carnival, with extra trains and attractions for families.

On Saturday & Sunday, trains hauled alternately by Sirs Cecil A Cochrane & HL No.2 leave Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.15, 12 noon12.45 pm, 1.30, 2.15, 3 & 3.45  for Sunniside, Causey & return.

No.2 & Cochrane being steamed earlier this month

Thursday, 26 June 2014

Around the Railway Today

David from DC decorating painting in Andrews House

Wednesday, 25 June 2014

Wednesday Work

Painting of Andrews House station continues; Vic is flailing the lineside near Boyd's

Tuesday, 24 June 2014

Typical Tanfield Tuesday

A mystery man working on Horden - revealed later

Monday, 23 June 2014

Around Marley Hill Today

Malcolm spot priming Twizell's wheels .....

Bowes Blog Updated

(photo Neville Whaler / Bowes Blog)

Sunday, 22 June 2014

Sunday Mainly at Engine Curve

Jason getting into his stride at Causey

Saturday, 21 June 2014

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday, Sir Cecil A Cochrane will take trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm, 2.15 3.30  for Sunniside, Causey & return.

Cochrane bringing its train into Causey in May
There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.

Friday, 20 June 2014

A Few Views

Paul & Julie delivering bags of coal to Andrews House

Thursday, 19 June 2014

Engine Curve Revisited

Ian moving panels nearer to final alignment

Wednesday, 18 June 2014

Back on Track

David from DC decorating still papering
& painting Andrews House tea room

Tuesday, 17 June 2014

Work at East Tanfield

David from DC decorating continuing to paper
& paint 
Andrews House tea room

Monday, 16 June 2014

Today Around TR

Dave milling a suspension compensating beam for Horden;
Jim making a water gauge spindle for Cochrane

Sunday, 15 June 2014

Sunday Stuff

David oiling Cochrane

Saturday, 14 June 2014

Saturday running

A guest this morning.

Saturday's First Train

All photos below are courtesy of Jason Peppercorn:

AW No.2 bringing the empty stock into Andrews House, with Tom on Cochrane at the back

Trains This Weekend

Today & tomorrow sees the Vintage Transport & Real Ale Festival at Tanfield Railway.

Trains leave Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm, 2.15 3.30  for Sunniside, Causey & return.

Cochrane drawing into Andrews House on 1 June
There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.

Friday, 13 June 2014

Quiet Friday

Ian bringing the mig welder
to the ballast waggon.

Dave Hewitt's Shots from 25 May

All photos below are courtesy and copyright of Dave Hewitt.   They were taken on Sunday 25 May, and are presented in an approximate time order.   However, Dave is a dab hand at using his lens to distort relativity of the background, so I'm not always sure where a shot has been taken!

178 emerging from hiding in a shed road, which
allowed No.2 & Cochrane to exit the yard .....

Thursday, 12 June 2014

Thursday: track / building.

Taking the works train
to ET.

Wednesday, 11 June 2014

Quiet Wednesday

Off loading more concrete sleepers for Haughwell
 burn curve this morning.


Bob adding more cement
to Twizell's smoke box.  
Ian Shunt the works van for
the team tomorrow. 
The bait room:
Restocked.  

Ken Snowdon's Shots of 24-26 May

All photos below are courtesy & copyright of Ken Snowdon:

Saturday 24 May2014

178 passing Marley Hill curve

Tuesday, 10 June 2014

Tanfield Tuesday.

Me oiling between
Wellington's frames ...
(Photo by Angela Pickering).

Monday, 9 June 2014

LA comes to Tanfield

Our multi-lingual media corespondent, setting up the days filming with the guy,s from LA.

Bigfoot Monday.

Today at Tanfield 178 returned to 
The Bluebell Railway, and filming for Bigfoot.

Tom turning...

Winner

Just arrived -
Trip Advisor Certificate 2014 

Sunday, 8 June 2014

Sunday People

Mark cleaning HL No.2 at Causey

Saturday, 7 June 2014

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday, HL No.2 will take trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm, 2.15 3.30  for Sunniside, Causey & return.
No.2 passing under Gibraltar bridge in March
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)
There will be no passenger trains beyond Causey due to track work on East Tanfield bank.

Friday, 6 June 2014

Friday Bits

Paul drilling and bolting buttress restraining plates

Thursday, 5 June 2014

Thursday at Marley Hill

Ian preparing & welding buttress girders

Wednesday, 4 June 2014

Some of Wednesday's Work

Jim setting up a Horden brake hanger in the miller

Tuesday, 3 June 2014

Tuesday Tasks around TR

Nigel removing Twizell's cab coal chute; Keith cleaning spring covers

Monday, 2 June 2014

Monday at Marley Hill

Dave making a spring hanger for Horden