Friday, 31 October 2014

Today at Tanfield

Vic on his way past Bobgins crossing .....

Rear Window

All photos below were taken last Sunday, and are courtesy of Dave Hewitt:

Twizell backed onto a waggon for coaling

Thursday, 30 October 2014

Setting Up at East Tanfield

We largely spent today adjusting points and driving mechanisms at ET:
Dan & Geoff manning Bobgins crossing
for the passage of the works train

Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Steam Tests

Cochrane & No.2 passed their annual cold boiler inspections yesterday,  Today it's steam tests:
Angela working in Cochrane's
smokebox this morning .....

East Tanfield Today

The works train heading out from Marley Hill

Tuesday, 28 October 2014

Sunday, 26 October 2014

Down the Line

Today, the check rail was installed at Engine Curve:

Ian demonstrating lifting rail with the strongback

Sunday Stuff

Twizell heading for coal, with Dan in the cab .....
(photo courtesy of Stu Armstrong)

Saturday, 25 October 2014

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday, the clocks go back and the Tanfield Railway will run 4 trains with 90 minutes between.

Twizell will haul trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3 pm  for Sunniside, Causey & return.   The line from Causey to East Tanfield remains closed to passenger trains.

Cochrane approaching AH late last October
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Friday, 24 October 2014

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Monday, 20 October 2014

Sunday, 19 October 2014

Sunday Stuff

In Marley Hill shed, Richard prepares Cochrane
for a boiler wash out .....

Saturday, 18 October 2014

Coal Train Day Reprised

All photos below were taken last Sunday by, and are courtesy of, Dave Hewitt:

Cochrane arriving at Andrews House

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday, Keighley Gas Works No.2 will take trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm, 2.15 3.30  for Sunniside, Causey & return.   The line from Causey to East Tanfield remains closed to passenger trains.
No.2 at Andrews House in August
(photo courtesy of Gillian Peppercorn)

Thursday, 16 October 2014

A Couple of Jobs

Richard shunting locos around to get No.6 over a pit
- it's awaiting boiler inspection & assessment

Wednesday, 15 October 2014

Monday, 13 October 2014

Sunday, 12 October 2014

Twizell on Coal

The following views of Twizell on the coal empties were all taken by John Turnock:

Waiting at Andrews House 

Coal Train Day

Tom, Owen & Anthony preparing Twizell & Cochrane

Saturday, 11 October 2014

Tomorrow's Coal Train Day

On Sunday, Cochrane will take passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm, 3.30  to Sunniside, Causey & return.   Twizell on coal empties will run between passenger trains - timetable below.   The line from Causey to East Tanfield remains closed to other than works trains.
Cochrane at Terrace Junction in fog on 30 March
(photo John Turnock)

Friday, 10 October 2014

Thursday, 9 October 2014

Wednesday, 8 October 2014

Tuesday, 7 October 2014

On Tanfield Bank

The jacker packer at work on ET bank .....
(photo courtesy of Dave Dixon)

At East Tanfield

Dave & Steve man Bobgins crossing gates
as Nigel brings the works train through

Monday, 6 October 2014

Sunday, 5 October 2014

Saturday, 4 October 2014

Yorkshire Austerities & Crews

Gala No.29 Again

All photos below are courtesy of Maurice Burns:
Near Causey Bankwell House

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday, Cochrane will take trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm, 2.15 3.30  for Sunniside, Causey & return.   The line from Causey to East Tanfield remains closed to passenger trains.
Cochrane passing under Gibraltar Bridge in August

Thursday, 2 October 2014