Saturday, 28 February 2015

Last Sunday

All photos below were taken last Sunday by Ken Snowdon:

Cochrane on the passenger train
approaching Causey Level Crossing

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3.15 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.   Pre booked Winter Warmers are available on the 1.30.   AW No.2 will be the pilot loco at East Tanfield.

Cochrane arriving at Andrews House last March

Friday, 27 February 2015

Friday Jobs

Vic continuing to sort out track materials

Thursday, 26 February 2015

Comments

I've opened up this TR blog so comments can be added at the foot of any recent post by anyone with an ID (eg Google).   If you write a comment, it should appear almost immediately.   I've chosen not to moderate (ie veto) comments on posts less than three days old.

Last Sunday

No.2 & Cochrane on the mixed train at Terrace Junction
(photo courtesy of Ken Snowdon)

Nearer the Beginning

Quinquagenarians Bill & Bob baiting in the
now closed Marley Hill station in 1985
(photo courtesy of Bob Payne)

Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Timberwork

Dick, Steve, Geoff & Dennis bringing in a replacement
timber for the carriage shed tandem point 

Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Inside Work .....

.....  due to poor weather outside today .....

Bobby measuring a buffer beam gusset for HC No.38

Monday, 23 February 2015

Monday Jobs

Brian milling a spring hanger for Twizell

Sunday, 22 February 2015

Coal Train Day

Ian & Peter watch as Tom takes the coal train
out of Marley Hill ....

Saturday, 21 February 2015

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3.15 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.   Pre booked Winter Warmers are available on the 1.30, which will be a mixed train with Cochrane & HL No.2.   AW No.2 will be the pilot loco at East Tanfield.

Cochrane with a mixed train last February
(photo courtesy of  Ken Snowdon)

Friday, 20 February 2015

Various Jobs

Vic picking up coal for Andrews House .....

Thursday, 19 February 2015

Evening Painting

This evening's photos below are courtesy of Mark Pearce 


David lettering the Lambton van

Thursday on Track

Geoff, Bill, Chris, Dan & Mike dig out ballast
& prepare to remove defective sleepers

Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Wednesday Work

Brian milling another of Twizell's spring hangers
- note the lines showing how much is to be removed

Tuesday, 17 February 2015

Tuesday at Tanfield

Dave setting up a spring crook on the Crowthorne lathe

Monday, 16 February 2015

NER Carriage Move

The NER 7 compartment carriage body was moved from Seaham to Stanegate today - the photos below are courtesy of David Watchman

Lifting the body .....

Today's Works

Peter measuring Twizell's springs

Sunday, 15 February 2015

Sunday at TR

Callum, Chris & Dan cleaning Cochrane & No.2 .....

Saturday, 14 February 2015

Last Sunday's Trains

The photos below were taken on Sunday 8 Feb 2015 by Ken Snowdon:

Cochrane approaches the first footpath on ET bank .....

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane & HL No.2 will haul mixed* trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.   Pre booked Winter Warmers are available on the 1.30 train.
No.2 & Cochrane on 1 February
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Friday, 13 February 2015

A Few Friday Jobs

Ian machining one of Twizell's new spring hangers

Bowes Blog Updated

Bowes railway blog 

Thursday, 12 February 2015

Thursday Track Team

Geoff & Rob see the works train through Causey Crossing

Wednesday, 11 February 2015

Wednesday Workers at ET

Nigel & Geoff see the works train through Causey Crossing

Tuesday, 10 February 2015

Tuesday Trackwork

Nigel & Rob see the works train past Causey crossing

Monday, 9 February 2015

Monday Jobs

Malcolm & Eric cleaning fishplate bolts, ready for tomorrow's work

Sunday, 8 February 2015

Sunday Stuff

Cochrane waiting with the flat waggon .....

Saturday, 7 February 2015

Last Sunday's Trains

The photos below were taken on Sunday 1 February 2015 by Ken Snowdon:


Cochrane leaves Marley Hill with the empty stock .....

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul mixed* trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.   Pre booked Winter Warmers are available on the 1.30 train.   The run round loop is not yet ready for use at East Tanfield, so AW No.2 will be used to release the train loco.

Sir Cecil is 4th from left on back row in this
1921 photo of Blyth Harbour Commissioners
(courtesy of Blyth correspondent Neil Morgan)

Friday, 6 February 2015

A Few Jobs

Ian loading coal for Andrews House

Thursday, 5 February 2015

East Tanfield Continues

Rob seeing the works train past Causey crossing

Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Further ET

Steve sees the works train past Causey crossing

Tuesday, 3 February 2015

East Tanfield Headshunt

Rob letting the works train past Causey crossing

Monday, 2 February 2015

Sunday, 1 February 2015

This Sunday

No.2 & Cochrane being steamed this morning .....