Thursday, 30 April 2015

Andrews House #15

Dave, Colin, Bill & Geoff clearing AH east platform

Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #14 etc

Vic's been removing rail from the picnic area

The Sunday Post

The multi contributor blog post for last Sunday is now complete

Tuesday, 28 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #13

Today's team are Dave, Nigel, Dave, Rob & Colin .....

Monday, 27 April 2015

Harton Electric Loco E4

Kyle Allsopp visited North Tyneside Steam Railway last Saturday, & took the photos below (except where stated):
New bow collectors .....

Sunday, 26 April 2015

Andrews House #12 on Sunday

Callum & Luke moving furniture
(photo courtesy of David Reed)

Saturday, 25 April 2015

Gala visitor confirmed


We are Pleased to announce that "71515 Mech Navvies" 
will be visiting us from the Blaenavon Heritage Railway
for our Legends of Industry Gala: 20th & 21st June 2015. 

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45 am, 1 pm, 2.15 pm 3.30 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.

At Andrews House, only the west platform will be in use, so there will be revised operations & signalling for the day.

Cochrane arriving at Andrews House east two weeks ago

Friday, 24 April 2015

A Variety of Jobs

Vic's off to work ....

Thursday, 23 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #11

Mike & Chris fishplating

Wednesday, 22 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #10

Kevin & Dave cleaning chairs

Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #9

The works train on its way to Andrews House

Monday, 20 April 2015

Another Week Starts ....

John, portable appliance testing

Vic & No.20

This morning, Vic strimming the grass verge of the bus layby,
which is on the alignment of the Bowes Railway

Sunday, 19 April 2015

Sunday, Brickshow Day #2

Sarah sweeping the carriage shed floor before the brickshow
(photo courtesy of Bob Payne)

Saturday, 18 April 2015

Saturday, Brickshow Day #1

Ryan checking the token
(photo courtesy of David Reed)

Back to Easter Monday

The photos below were taken on Easter Monday by Ken Snowdon:


The view from Gibraltar Bridge

Friday, 17 April 2015

Getting Prepared

Final checking of AH west platform clearances, using the MS&L carriage

This Weekend

On Saturday & Sunday, Twizell will haul passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45 am, 1 pm, 2.15 pm 3.30 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
Twizell heading south from Andrews House in March
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Thursday, 16 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #8

Vic on his Fergie, cutting grass while the sun shines

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Heritage Clothing Appeal.

Ferryhill Station staff.
The Tanfield Railway needs clothing to a style of that between the years of 1910 to 1950 for our staff. If you or someone you know, want to get rid of some old clothing the railway would welcome donations.

Andrews House Relaying #7

Ian starting to level the track bed

Tuesday, 14 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #6

Taking the crane around Marley Hill curve .....
(photo courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)

Monday, 13 April 2015

Another Interesting Web Site

Border Counties Bridge (JW Armstrong Trust)
Heddon on the Wall LHS web site has an excellent sequence of photos showing the extant structures on the route of the Border Counties Railway, from the bridge west of Hexham to Riccarton Junction on the Waverley route.

See http://heddonhistory.weebly.com/blog/border-counties-railway for the photos

SeeLinks of Interest for over 200 web sites related to Tanfield, railways, & the North East of England 

Sunday, 12 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #5 & Sunday Stuff

Matthew & Chris cleaning Cochrane this morning

Saturday, 11 April 2015

Easter Monday Again

The photos below were taken last Monday by John Turnock:
Tom & David taking Cochrane from Marley Hill shed to its train

Tomorrow's Trains

Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45 am, 1 pm, 2.15 pm 3.30 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.

At Andrews House, only the east platform will be in use, via the footbridge.    Accordingly, there will be revised operations & signalling for the day.

Cochrane at Andrews House east platform last month

Friday, 10 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #4

Ethan, Dan, Dai & David screwing down chairs

Bowes Railway Blog Updated

Bowes Railway Blog 

Thursday, 9 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #3

Vic unloading ash ballast from AH next to Marley Hill curve

Wednesday, 8 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #2

The works train in Andrews House this morning

Tuesday, 7 April 2015

Andrews House Relaying #1

Dennis & Dave starting to dismantle the west road at AH

Monday, 6 April 2015

Easter Monday

Cochrane outside Marley Hill shed this morning
(photo courtesy of David Reed)

Sunday, 5 April 2015

Easter Sunday

Chris cleaning Cochrane & Matthew polishing No.2

Saturday, 4 April 2015

Easter Saturday

All photos below are courtesy of David Reed:
At Andrews House, Chris arriving on Cochrane .....

Friday, 3 April 2015

Good Friday 2

Good Friday 1

All photos below are courtesy of David Reed:
Ian coupling Twizell to the train at Sunniside

Trains This Weekend

See the Tanfield Railway web for more information about Easter Weekend.

On Friday, Twizell will haul passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, 11.45, 1 pm, 2.15 & 3.30  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.

Twizell last Sunday evening

Thursday, 2 April 2015

Getting Ready.....

..... for track work in Andrews House next week .....
Dave, Geoff & Mike clearing the bed .....

Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Wednesday Work

No.6's boiler being lifted from the bogie .....