Monday, 30 November 2015

Monday at Marley Hill

Vic sorting out firewood on a dreek morning

Sunday, 29 November 2015

Day 2 at the North Pole

Tom about to take No.2 to the empty stock

Saturday, 28 November 2015

Day 1 at the North Pole

Calm & tidy in the NP tearoom before the first arrival
(photo courtesy of Bob Payne)

Friday, 27 November 2015

Preparation for Trains This Weekend

Dave & Malcolm stacking coal at the south end of the North Pole,
ready for use by tomorrow's banking loco

Thursday, 26 November 2015

Tidying East Tanfield

Malcolm & Dennis cleaning grout from tiles

Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Tanfield Today

Bob painting a window frame at East Tanfield
(photo courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)

Tuesday, 24 November 2015

A bit more at East Tanfield

 
Bob applying sealer & Nigel spreading cement .....

Monday, 23 November 2015

Start of the Week

Richard working on Horden's final wheelset

Sunday, 22 November 2015

Last Ordinary Running Day of 2015

Matthew cleaning Cochrane's cab fittings

Saturday, 21 November 2015

Snowy Saturday

The photos below are all courtesy of David Reed:
Colin directing clearing of the North Pole east platform .....

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday, HL No.2 will take passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
Callum & Angela on No.2 at the Sunniside buffer stop in August

Friday, 20 November 2015

ET Today

Ian adding trim to the wainscot in the back room
(photo courtesy of Ian Cowan)

Thursday, 19 November 2015

Inside ET Still

The team placing a counter removed from Andrews House

Wednesday, 18 November 2015

Inside ET Again



Bob's back - painting

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

Geordie Geologist

An interesting programme linking ballast hills, pits, politics, llama excrement, geothermal energy, etc
Jim Al-Khalili speaks with Paul Younger on BBC Radio 4

Tuesday at Tanfield

Shaun & Nigel grouting the floor tiles

Monday, 16 November 2015

Marley Hill & East Tanfield

Vic on his way to flail the lineside

Sunday, 15 November 2015

Sunday Ops

Steve on the Armstrong, propelling ......

Saturday, 14 November 2015

Saturday Work

The photos below are courtesy of Mark Pearce:
Chris fitting new studs to HC 38's boiler

Retyring Horden Video

A still from the video taken last week by David Watchman 

Tomorrow's Trains

Keighley Gas Works No.2 has recently had repairs to its blastpipe, slidebars, crosshead slippers & injector steam valve, & was successfuly tested last Sunday.   On Sunday, it will take passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
No.2 departing from Andrews House in late August
(photo courtesy of Ken Snowdon)

Friday, 13 November 2015

HRA Young Members Day

Last Saturday 4 volunteers from Tanfield attended the 
Heritage Railway Association (HRA) young members day 
at the Amerton Railway, near Stafford. 

Here are 5 pictures taken from the day...

Luke Driving Isabel.
One of three engines in use for driver experience.
 

Today's Work

Ian visually checking clearances at Causey for the Siphon G chassis

Thursday, 12 November 2015

Tanfield with a Roof

Dave cutting to shape one of the last roof sheets

Wednesday, 11 November 2015

Painters of Tanfield

Geoff (lead brush) & Dick spreading

Tuesday, 10 November 2015

Tanfield Work

Dave & I fitting flashing to the south gable
(photo courtesy of Ian Cowan)

Monday, 9 November 2015

MH & ET

Brian fitting bolts on Horden's suspension .....

Sunday, 8 November 2015

Another Sunday

Angela cleaning Cochrane

Saturday, 7 November 2015

Tomorrow's Trains

On Sunday Cochrane will take passenger trains from Andrews House at  10.30 am, noon, 1.30 pm 3 pm  for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
Cochrane at Engine Curve last Sunday .....
(photo courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Friday, 6 November 2015

Tanfield Water

Photos of the water connection being made today at East Tanfield, courtesy of Ian Cowan:
Machine dig nearly to the main

All Saints Day Again

The photos below were taken last Sunday by Ken Snowdon:
Cochrane leaving Marley Hill with the empty stock

Thursday, 5 November 2015

Tanfield Station Today

Chris fitting flashing .....

Wednesday, 4 November 2015

East Tanfield Continues

Geoff painting while Steve mixes tile cement

Tuesday, 3 November 2015

Tuesday at Tanfield

Ian spreading hardcore in the car park

Monday, 2 November 2015

Sunday, 1 November 2015

Sunday Variety

Richard & Antony removing Horden's wheelset from the lathe

Bridge Demolition Lambton Style

Pathe 1934 film of demolition of footbridge from Sunderland town to Ayres Quay,
which crossed the Lambton Drops headshunt in Galley's Gill