Thursday, 30 June 2016

5 Years & Gala

Five years ago this blog was started with a post about the foundations of East Tanfield station building.   Who do you recognize, who's left & who is still working with us?   Take a look at July 2011's posts (links at page bottom) to see what's changed, developed & remained.

More recently, Dave Dixon has produced a video of the 2016 LoI Gala.    Click to watch & find what's  behind this steam screen.

Gable Work +

Dave & Chris measuring up for future fitting of doors

Wednesday, 29 June 2016

Sunday, 26 June 2016

Sunday Ops

Angela overseeing the morning shunt in the carriage shed .....

Saturday, 25 June 2016

Gala Finale

The photos below were taken on Sunday 12 June by Ken Snowdon:
David looking the part on Sir Berkeley

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, HL No.2 will take trains from Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return.
No.2 entering Causey station in March

Monday, 20 June 2016

Sunday, 19 June 2016

This Sunday Ops

Angela washing out Twizell's foundation ring, ready for the annual exam 

Saturday, 18 June 2016

Last Sunday Gala People

The photos below were all taken last Sunday by Carl Chambers:
David running Sir Berkeley round its train at Sunniside .....

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, HL No.2 will take trains from Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return.
Last night, David & Angela filling No.2's bunker, ready for Sunday

Friday, 17 June 2016

Early Railways Conference - Visit to TR

The Early Railways Conference is being held in Newcastle this year, and visited Tanfield Railway this evening:
David & Angela preparing HL No.2 .....

Saturday Selection

The photos below were taken during last Saturday's gala, & are all courtesy of Ken Snowdon:
A steamy No.35 ready to shunt extra vehicles onto its train in Marley Hill station, on the right

Thursday, 16 June 2016

Wednesday, 15 June 2016

Tuesday, 14 June 2016

Tuesday at TR

Rob & Dave anticlimactic shunting at Marley Hill
(photo courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)

Hartley Main No.35 on Gala Sunday

The photos below were taken on Sunday by Dave Hewitt :
No.35 leaving Marley Hill with the empty stock of the mixed train .....

Monday, 13 June 2016

Sir Berkeley on Gala Sunday

The photos below were taken yesterday by Dave Hewitt :
Sir Berkeley leaving Andrews House .....

Friday, 10 June 2016

Wednesday, 8 June 2016

Gala Prep Again

Bill & Bob viewing the new arrival at ET for this weekend's gala

Tuesday, 7 June 2016

Monday, 6 June 2016

Sunday, 5 June 2016

Sunday

Ben, Ethan & Callum, cleaning Twizell this morning
(photo courtesy of Angela Pickering)

Saturday, 4 June 2016

Carriage No.3

Chris sealing fixed windows
(photo courtesy of David Watchman)

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, Twizell will take trains from Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return.
Henry peering at the camera as Twizell heads into Sunniside in June 2013
(photo courtesy of Ken Snowdon)

Friday, 3 June 2016

Thursday, 2 June 2016

Thursday Around TR

Peter measuring the distance between wheel boss
thrust plates on one of Horden's axles