Friday, 30 September 2016

A Puzzle

Where is this impressive viaduct with brick piers & arches, & red sandstone spandrels?
Clues in the photo are the old & modern A road bridges seen through the arches,
& the the dished foreground was a Roman amphitheatre - final clue for cheats follows .....

Thursday, 29 September 2016

Thursday Around TR

Rob doing portable appliance tests (PAT) at East Tanfield
(photo courtesy of Geoff Lowe)

Wednesday, 28 September 2016

More Gable etc

David & Dave hoisting scaffold boards to Steve & Bob

New TV Series

Still from Railways: The Making of a Nation 
The first of six episodes was shown on BBC1 at 7.30 this evening - the second is on BBC4 at 7.30 tomorrow.   In the first episode the Midland Railway featured, including Matthew Kirtley (born Tanfield), but much was about the share owning which developed with railways, including Hudson's rise & fall.  Opinion - better than Trainspotting Live.   

Visitor Information

Some of yesterday's group of very appreciative enthusiasts, who pay a brief annual visit to TR from Germany, are associated with a railway whose webs are shown below:
pressnitztalbahn.de - a 75 cm line running 9 km from Steinbach to Johstadt

Tuesday, 27 September 2016

Monday, 26 September 2016

Workshop Time

Ian manoeuvring Horden's cab ..... 

Sunday, 25 September 2016

Saturday, 24 September 2016

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, Twizell will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return.
Twizell heading its train into Andrews House in September 2014

Friday, 23 September 2016

Cochrane's Last Weekend

Cochrane at NRM Shildon last Sunday, by Ken Snowdon:

Thursday, 22 September 2016

ET Fenestration

The photos below are courtesy of Geoff Lowe:
Chris & Steve fitting a window frame

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Wednesday's Gable Work

Steve and Bob mixing mortar...

Tuesday, 20 September 2016

More Gable

Colin mixing mortar .....

Monday, 19 September 2016

Today at Tanfield Railway

Alan setting up a welding job; Malcolm working on Horden

Sunday, 18 September 2016

Sunday

Chris oiling No.2 this morning

Saturday, 17 September 2016

Tanfield @ Shildon

Cochrane & big brother at Shildon this morning
(photo courtesy of Euan Sharp)

TRA Middleton Railway Trip

Tomorrow's Trains & more.....

Tomorrow, HL No.2 will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return. 
No.2 at Andrews House earlier this month

Friday, 16 September 2016

A Few for Friday

Ian making window frames for East Tanfield station .....

Thursday, 15 September 2016

Thursday Tasks

Bill, Chris & Michael modifying the hanging of Causey level crossing gate

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Wednesday Work

Bob & Dave mixing mortar

Tuesday, 13 September 2016

Tuesday Jobs

Steve & Dave working on the gable
(photo courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)

Monday, 12 September 2016

Mainly Workshop

Dave altering gearing before using a lathe

Sunday, 11 September 2016

Heritage Open Day #4

David, Dai & Matthew preparing No.2 this morning

Saturday, 10 September 2016

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, HL No.2 will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return. 
No.2 entering Sunniside last September

Heritage Open Day #3

Bill chatting with a visitor

Friday, 9 September 2016

Heritage Open Day #2

Alan giving another Tanfield talk

Thursday, 8 September 2016

Heritage Open Day #1

Alan giving a talk on the Tanfield Railway

Wednesday, 7 September 2016

Work Continues

Ian removing rust from around Cochrane's tubes before expanding them

Tuesday, 6 September 2016

Tuesday News

Dave & Steve working on the gable, viewed from the bankside

NELPG Friends

Who do you recognize in this photo of NELPG friends in the Bridge Hotel c1971?
(photo courtesy of John Hunt, published in NELPG News 294 for August 2016)

Monday, 5 September 2016

Sunday, 4 September 2016

Sunday Operations

Matthew & Steve heading off shed with No.2 .....

Heritage Open Days at Tanfield Railway


Tanfield Railway is taking part in Heritage Open Days for the first time in 2016.   This annual national event, sponsored by the People's Postcode Lottery & administered by the National Trust, sees historic & cultural venues open their doors for special & free access by visitors.

Our Marley Hill site will be open to the public from 11 am to 3 pm on Thursday 8, Friday 9, Saturday 10 & Sunday 11 September, as advertised on the Heritage Open Day web site.   Additionally on Sunday, trains & fares will be as normal & advertised.

Talks & tours will start at the carriage shed, where light refreshments will be available, there will be short talks about TR, & Sunniside Local History Group will have a stand,   Large numbers are not expected, but visitors will be interested, so we should be on the lookout for new workers.   We would like current volunteers to take small groups to their favourite exhibit, and talk about it for 10-15 minutes - if you'd like to help, contact Derek, David W, or Angela.

Saturday, 3 September 2016

Meanwhile at Marley Hill .....


Jonathan removing the blow down valve from No.49
(photo courtesy of Richard Charlton)

Last Saturday of Summer Timetable

The photos below are courtesy of David Reed:
Chris cleaning No.2 this morning

Friday, 2 September 2016

Trains This Weekend

Tomorrow, on the last Saturday of the summer timetabletrains will leave Andrews House at 10.30, 11.45, 1.15, 2.30 & 3.45 for Sunniside, Causey Arch, East Tanfield & return.
Cochrane in Causey Woods in September 2015
(photo courtesy of Ken Snowdon)

Thursday, 1 September 2016

Thursday

The photos below were taken at East Tanfield by Geoff Lowe :
Malcolm searching for the feed from the generator