Friday, 30 June 2017

One Job

Horden's RH eccentric rods are bent - Brian locates the bend in one

At Bowes Railway This Weekend

See the Bowes Railway Blog for how the railway is taking part in the 1940s Weekend at Springwell Village.
Bowes Railway open day early this month
(photo by Dave Hewitt from Bowes Railway Blog)

Thursday, 29 June 2017

Continuations

Peter & Brian selecting & checking shims for Horden's side rods

Wednesday, 28 June 2017

Tuesday, 27 June 2017

Sunday, 25 June 2017

Sunday Mix

Tom handing over the Sunniside token as No.2 propels the empty stock into Andrews House

Saturday, 24 June 2017

Saturday with a train

Chris lighting no.2

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, No.2 will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm, 2.35 pm & 3.55 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
No.2 at Andrews House

Friday, 23 June 2017

Coal Train

The Planet with coal empties at Causey Crossing .....

Thursday, 22 June 2017

A Day of Two Halfs

The first half was a video sponsored by & for Heart Radio on behalf of NewcastleGateshead Initiative, which is promoting rural Gateshead
Peter chatting with Ian as he prepares Cochrane for testing following a tank washout;
Cochrane is also the train engine today

Wednesday, 21 June 2017

Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Monday, 19 June 2017

Sunday, 18 June 2017

Saturday, 17 June 2017

Friday, 16 June 2017

2017 Gala Timetables

Click on a timetable to enlarge it.   For more information see the main TR web 

49's Boiler

A patch ready to weld into place on the lower outer firebox side at Newton's .....
(photo courtesy of John Eastwood via Richard Charlton)

Thursday, 15 June 2017

Thursday Evening

David starting the final coat of gloss on no.1

Time in the Toilets

The photos below are courtesy of Dave Dixon :
Bill mixing self levelling compound ...... 

PHOTOGRAPHIC EVENING

PHOTOGRAPHIC EVENING - Friday 16th June, 6pm - 10pm.
Calling all photographers! This unique event will be a special chance to capture our Legends of Industry Gala visitors and home fleet locomotives around Marley Hill Engine Shed at twilight.
Tickets £10pp (on the door/online)
http://www.tanfield-railway.co.uk/index.php?page=legends-of-industry-photographic-evening

Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Wednesday Lads by Geoff

The photos below are courtesy of Geoff Lowe :
Shaun painting the carriage shed doors

Collecting Linda

All photos below were taken by Angela Pickering


The planet and Linda at East Tanfield ready for the journey to Marley Hill.

Wednesdays Gala Prep

Ben sanding no.1s side in preparation for its final coat of gloss.

Seaside Bridges

I remember some bits of the Marsden Rattler, so this:
Footpath to the Moray Firth under the line into Banff harbour station

Tuesday, 13 June 2017

Tuesday Evening


David marking out recycled T&G from no.1s side for use in the gates.

Monday, 12 June 2017

Ugly's Arrival

All photos below are thanks to Angela Pickering. 

David Varnishing no.1's tables. 

More from Yesterday

The photos below were taken yesterday by Ken Snowdon :

Sunday, 11 June 2017

Saturday, 10 June 2017

Saturday

David oiling Cochrane.

Tomorrrow's Trains

Today, SaturdaySir Cecil A Cochrane is hauling privately hired trains, & the railway is closed to the public.

Tomorrow, Sunday, Cochrane will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm, 2.35 pm & 3.55 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
Cochrane and train passing a track gang at Causey Bankwell Farm in June 2012

Thursday, 8 June 2017

Tuesday, 6 June 2017

Wet Day Jobs

Steve & Dave do initial checks on a flail for the trackside

Monday, 5 June 2017

Gala Visitors

We're excited to announce that 'Ugly' No.62 from the Spa Valley Railway - Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent and No.3931 'Linda' from Ribble Steam Railway & Museum will be our star guests at Legends of Industry - 17th & 18th June!

Monday Men at Work

Eric cleaning one of four leading springs for Horden
(the rear two new springs have been fitted)

Invitation from Geoff

Geoff Lowe invites Tanfield volunteers to meet at the Bridge Hotel, Newcastle from 7pm tonight, Monday 5 June.
The Bridge Hotel is at the north end of the High Level Bridge

Sunday, 4 June 2017

Sunday Ops

Guy at the ground frame as No.2 shunts the carriage shed

Saturday, 3 June 2017

Saturday Assortment

David preparing the metal top on No.1s balcony tops for painting...

49's Boiler Progress

Weld preparation on the firebox doorplate at Newton's 
(photo courtesy of John Eastwood via Richard Charlton)

This Weekend's Trains

Today, there are no trains Saturday daytime.  Murder on the Tanfield Express is fully booked Saturday evening, when the Express will be hauled by Keighley Gasworks No.2.   (Tickets are available for the July murder.)
Kyle & Steve on No.2 last June

Friday, 2 June 2017

Thursday, 1 June 2017