Saturday, 21 October 2017

Last Sunday's Coal Train 2

The photos below are courtesy of Dave Hewitt:

Peter using Cochrane to make clouds at Causey

Trains Tomorrow

Tomorrow, Sunday, Keighley Gasworks No.2 is due to head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm, 2.35 pm & 3.55 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
No.2 steaming south under Gibraltar Bridge last October

Friday, 20 October 2017

Last Sunday's Coal Train 1

The photos below are courtesy of Ken Snowdon:

Sir Cecil A Cochrane & waggons approach Terrace Junction

Thursday, 19 October 2017

Some of Today's Work

Geoff & others have cleared the new toilet storeroom ready for use

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Point & Urinal

Shaun fitting pipe clips .....
(photo courtesy of Geoff Lowe)

Talks

There will be an Stephenson Locomotive Society talk on the Origins & Development of NER Tyneside Electrification starting 7 pm on Friday 27 October 2017 at the Mining Institute.
NER Electric Parcels Van preserved at Stephenson Railway Museum 
More information about talks in our area may be found by clickingEvents Diary below the heading of this blog.

More information about the SLS Newcastle section is published on the SLS website and the SLS blog

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

Plant & Trees

Rob & Bill cutting a tree which overhangs Andrews House station building .....

Bowes Railway Blog Updated

WST at Springwell (photo Bowes Railway) 

Monday, 16 October 2017

Workshop, Mainly

Dennis removing the spin marks from another smokebox door

Sunday, 15 October 2017

Colliery Railways Day

Cochrane marshalling the first vehicles of the coal train at Marley Hill

Saturday, 14 October 2017

Similarity of Work, not Budget

Platform 12 rebuild at Waverley yesterday

Trains Tomorrow

Tomorrow, Sunday, is "Colliery Railways Day" during which Twizell is due to head mixed trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.45 pm 3.35 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return, while Sir Cecil A Cochrane will haul a coal train north from Andrews House at 11.05 am, 12.21 pm, 2.31 pm & 4 pm.
Twizell at Andrews House in October 2015

Friday, 13 October 2017

Export Tanfield

Tanfield features in this current German magazine
(lead courtesy of Dave Hewitt)

Thursday, 12 October 2017

Work Continues

Brian (& Peter) measuring lubrication runs on Horden

Wednesday, 11 October 2017

More Digging at East Tanfield

Nigel heading off in the hired dumper with more fill .....

Tuesday, 10 October 2017

A Day Out with a Digger

Ian, Dave & Steve moving earth from the future carriage shed road

Monday, 9 October 2017

Workshop & Outside

Dave further machining Horden's drawhook
(photo courtesy of Angela Pickering)

Sunday, 8 October 2017

TR Volunteers Visit the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railway

This weekend saw a few volunteers from TR visit the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railway for their annual Victorian Weekend. 
Merddin Emrys stands at Beddgelert

Around Tanfield Today

Logan & Ben polishing No.2 this morning, as steam is raised

Saturday, 7 October 2017

Trains this Sunday

Tomorrow, Sunday, Keighley Gasworks No.2 is due to head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm, 2.35 pm & 3.55 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.
No.2 on test after overhaul in October 2012

Friday, 6 October 2017

New ET Carriage Shed Alignment Dig

Ian removing spoil from the alignment into the new carriage shed.
The front NW corner will be near the concrete sleeper in the left foreground.
The headshunt on which the waggons sit in the distance will be connected
through where the dumper stands to an offloading siding.

Thursday, 5 October 2017

Today's Work

Peter & Brian shaping lubrication pipes for Horden

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

More East Tanfield

Dennis & Steve filling the platform around yesterday's concrete pour

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

Progress at East Tanfield

Steve & Ian setting up a former

Monday, 2 October 2017

Loco Work

Jim working on a clack

Sunday, 1 October 2017

Sunday Stuff

Alex, Oliver, Ben & Luke removing ash from the front of Marley Hill shed