Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Same & Different

Site visit to discuss renewal of  platform edges at East Tanfield
- this job will be undertaken prior to completing MH toilets

Tuesday, 28 March 2017

Tuesday at TR

Steve recladding the toilet doorway with a better finish .....
(photo courtesy of Dave Dixon)

Monday, 27 March 2017

In the Workshop

Angela cutting a gasket for Cochrane

Sunday, 26 March 2017

A Fine Spring Day

Angela & the great permutation of carriages this morning

Saturday, 25 March 2017

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, on the first day of our 5 train summer timetable following clocks going forward one hour, No.2 will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm, 2.35 pm & 3.55 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.

Note that tickets for travel are available on the day as usual - Sold Out on the Mothers Day page refers to the cake carriage.
No.2 passing Marley Hill signalbox in March 2016
(photo courtesy of Bob Payne)

Friday, 24 March 2017

Then & Now

I came across an interesting on line facility available from the National Library of Scotland.   It allows you to view an old OS map alongside & synchronized with a current satellite view.

Some examples:
1.  The route of the Marsden Rattler - follow it south east to the paper mill beyond Whitburn Colliery, or head west to Whitburn Colliery Junction on the Pontop & South Shields Branch, & beyond
http://maps.nls.uk/geo/explore/sidebyside.cfm#zoom=16&lat=54.9911&lon=-1.4101&layers=6&right=BingHyb 
The Marsden Rattler

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Thursday Team

Geoff painting ceiling joists in the new ladies toilet

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Continued Jobs

Nigel making a dome cover gasket for Cochrane

Tuesday, 21 March 2017

A Typical Day

Nigel, Steve & Maggie cladding a doorway
(photo courtesy of Dave Dixon)

Monday, 20 March 2017

Great War Weekend People

The photographs below were taken last weekend by Graeme Kitching:

Sunday, 19 March 2017

A Few from Today

Richard making a replacement steel blastpipe for No.49

Saturday, 18 March 2017

Great war weekend Saturday

Chris lighting Twizell...

Friday, 17 March 2017

Trains This Weekend

This is Great War Weekend at Tanfield Railway.
Durham Pals at Andrews House in March 2016

Thursday, 16 March 2017

Doors & Boards

Jim & Brian inspecting the flail shaft

Wednesday, 15 March 2017

A Few Tasks

Steve, Steve & Bob removing the decayed footbridge beam
(photo courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)

Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Tuesday Team

John installing electrics

Monday, 13 March 2017

Loco Work

Dave milling a cotter for Horden

Sunday, 12 March 2017

Based Around the Signalbox Today

David clearing molehills .....
(photo courtesy of Bob Payne)

Saturday, 11 March 2017

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, the last day of the four train winter timetable, No. 2 will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm & 2.35 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.

No.2 heading for Sunniside in March 2016
(photo courtesy of Ken Snowdon)

Thursday, 9 March 2017

Various Jobs

Ian checking that Angela has pressed Cochrane's boiler
to 1.5 times its working pressure (a hydraulic test) .....

Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Wednesday Workers

Dennis & Steve continuing the wainscot in the toilets

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

Tuesday's Work

Steve cutting plasterboard .....

Monday, 6 March 2017

Loco Work

Dave drilling Horden's new spectacle rings

Sunday, 5 March 2017

Saturday, 4 March 2017

Geoff's Bridge Club

A reminder that all TR volunteers are welcome at Geoff's Bridge Club's next meeting on Monday 6 March from about 7 pm.   
The Bridge Inn alongside G.Stephenson's 1826 Killingworth Billy
on R.Stephenson's 1849 High Level Bridge, viewed c1885
(photo Newcastle Libraries)

Tomorrow's Trains

Tomorrow, No. 2 will head trains from Andrews House at 10.30 am, 11.50 am, 1.15 pm & 2.35 pm for Sunniside, Causey, East Tanfield & return.

The photos below were taken by Ken Snowdon last Sunday:
No.2 approaches Causey Level Crossing .....

Friday, 3 March 2017

Today's Pin Ups

Alan pinning up his maps in the carriage shed

Thursday, 2 March 2017

Mainly Toilet Work

Jim on the lathe

Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Some of Today's Work

Ian bringing Beamish's Peckett's wheels to the wheel lathe
(photo courtesy of Nigel Wheeler)